Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

My essential

Publié le par Chris

Abbey Road (The Beatles)
Abbey Road (The Beatles)

Lorsque l’on aime la musique, on a forcément un ou plusieurs groupes qui font office de « mètre étalon ». Pour moi, c’est différent,je suis tombée dans la marmite de Rock British quand j’étais petite ! Si l’on part de ce principe là, j’ai beaucoup d’indispensables musicaux. Je vous en livre quelques uns avant d’entrer dans le vif du sujet (Ils ne sont pas tous anglais).

  • Foo Fighters (This is a call) - Rolling Stones (2000 lights years from home)
  • Elvis Presley (Jail House rock) - Led Zepplin (Whole lotta love)
  • Deep Purple (Smoke on the water) - Jimi Hendrix (All along the watch tower)
  • The Doors (The End) - The Velvet underground ( I’ll be your mirror)
  • Aretha Franklin (Respect) - The Who (Won’t get fooled again)

Voilà, je m’arrête là sinon je pourrais vous en remplir une page entière. Aujourd’hui, je choisi ceux qui sont en partie à l’origine du « Swinging London », les Beatles bien sûr ! Il est d’ailleurs paru cet été un hors série du magazine Rolling Stones à ce sujet. Plus qu’intéressant, on y retrouve beaucoup de pointures du rock et du blues. Revenons-en aux 4 garçons dans le vent ! Comment passer à côté de leur musique car ils ont inspiré une multitude d’artistes. J’ai leur album 1# que l’on pourrait considérer comme un best of. Je ne m’en lasse pas, mais il y en a qui ont une place particulière dans mon univers musical. Dans le top 3 :

  • Come together
  • Get back
  • Let itbe

Elles sont incontournables pour moi. Inutile de dire que j’ai savouré chaque seconde du concert des 50 ans des Beatles. C’était un vrai bonheur de voir autant d’artistes leur rendre hommage. J’ai adoré la prestation de Joe Walsh, Gary Clark Jr et Dave Grohl sur « While my guitar gently weeps ». Juste un moment de pur plaisir. A la fin du concert, l’album 1# a retenti comme pour signifier que ce n’était pas encore la fin de la soirée. C’est d’ailleurs comme ça que je suis tombée ,par hasard, sur une reprise de Come together par un groupe que j’aime beaucoup, les Arctic Monkeys. Pour les J.O 2012, Alex Turner la réinterprète avec brio. Je suis souvent très critique concernant les reprises mais là, je m’incline ! Après cet album, il y a bien ce que je considère comme le St Graal, l’intégrale des Beatles remasterisée.

Bref passons, il y a un autre grand monsieur de la musique qui fait partie de my essentials. Qui est-il me direz vous ? Disons que parfois il marchait ….on the wild side ! Pour ceux qui l’on reconnu, il s’agit de Lou Reed. Le timbre de sa voix est juste génial, personnellement j’adore « Walk on the wild side ». Bien entendu, il faut prendre en compte les paroles. Une fois traduites, on comprend qu’elles traitent de prostitution, de drogue, d’homosexualité et de transexualité. Des sujets qui reviennent fréquemment dans les textes de cet artiste fabuleux. Son best of fait partie de mes acquisitions et je l’adore. Sa voix a un effet apaisant et j’aime beaucoup ses mélodies. Une de mes préférées, « Nobody but you » avec John Cale ou encore Perfec tday. Pas étonnant de retrouver The Velvet Underground dans ma liste. « I’ll be your mirror » me fait penser à « I wanna be yours » des Arctic Monkeys dans le style du texte. Cette façon d’exprimer un amour profond (aussi profond que l’océan Pacifique…) est sans failles. Des paroles magnifiques comme on n’en fait plus assez dans les chansons d’aujourd’hui. Je lui rends hommage un peu avant l’heure car cela fera bientôt un an qu’il nous a quitté. Le monde de la musique a perdu un de ses enfants chéris.

When you love music, you inevitably have one or several bands which become a personal benchmark. It’s different for me ; I got hooked on British rock when I was a little girl ! So if we look at it that way, I’ve already acquired the essentials. I’ll share some of them with you before getting to the heart of the matter (They aren’t all British).

  • Foo Fighters (This is a call) - Rolling Stones (2000 lights years from home)
  • Elvis Presley (Jail House rock) - Led Zepplin (Whole lotta love)
  • Deep Purple (Smoke on the water) - Jimi Hendrix (All along the watch tower)
  • The Doors (The End) - The Velvet underground ( I’ll be your mirror)
  • Aretha Franklin (Respect) - The Who (Won’t get fooled again)

So I’ll stop here otherwise I could write endlessly about it. Today, I have chosen those artists without whom « Swinging London » wouldn’t have existed. The Beatles, of course! This summer, Rolling stone magazine published a special edition about it, where interestingly, we can find a lot of very good rock and blues artists. Let’s talk about those 4 boys, key figures of Swinging London ! How could anyone pass over their music which has inspired so many artists ? I have their 1# album, almost considereda ‘best of’. I never tire of it, but there are some tracks which hold a special place in my musical universe.

In the top 3 :

  • Come together
  • Get back
  • Let it be

They are indispensable for me ! Needless to say, I enjoyed every second of the Beatles 50th anniversary. It was really great to see so many artists pay tribute to them. I very much enjoyed Joe Walsh, Gary Clark Jr and Dave Grohl’s performance on « While my guitar weeps ». Quite simply, a great moment of music ! At the end of the concert, the 1# album has called, as if to say to us the evening was not quite over yet ! Incidentally, it was in this way that I happened to come across a ‘Come together’ by the Arctic Monkeys (For the 2012 Olympic Games). Alex Turner sang it excellently ! I’m usually very critical about artists who cover other artists’ songs but in this case… I bowed to Turner’s expertise ! After that album, there’s one that I considered as the Holy Grail, the full remastered Beatles albums. One day, it will be mine…or not !

Well, let’s talk about another very famous person in my musical universe who is a vital component of my essential musical make-up. Who is he ? Sometimes, he has walked on the wild side… For those who have guessed who it is, it’s Mister Lou Reed. His ‘best of’ is one of my acquisitions and I like it very much. The sound of his voice is just really great ; personally I adore « Walk on the wild side ». Of course, you need to listen carefully to the lyrics. When you translate them, you understood that the song is about drugs, prostitution, homosexuality and trans-sexuality. This great artist very frequently used these subjects in his texts. His voice calms me and I adore his melodies. One of my favorites is « Nobody but you » with John Cale or “Perfect Day too”. It’s not astonishing to find The Velvet Underground in my list. « I’ll be your mirror », makes me think of « I wanna be yours » of Arctic Monkeys from the style of the text. This way of expressing a profound love (as deep as the Pacific Ocean) is flawless. The lyrics are simply divine; such as are rarely found in musical texts today. I’m paying tribute to his memory a little early because it is almost one year since he left this earthly world and one year since the world of music lost a most cherished child.

vidéo by Cal Vid on You tube

Sir Paul Mc Cartney and Sir Ringo Starr ; Mr Lou Reed ; Rolling stone magazine
Sir Paul Mc Cartney and Sir Ringo Starr ; Mr Lou Reed ; Rolling stone magazine
Sir Paul Mc Cartney and Sir Ringo Starr ; Mr Lou Reed ; Rolling stone magazine

Sir Paul Mc Cartney and Sir Ringo Starr ; Mr Lou Reed ; Rolling stone magazine

vidéo by Tedsonic

Commenter cet article